Posted by: michelenel | 12 July, 2016

Men’s Boxers – A Test…

A big thank you to the folks over at Textillia for the shout out of a pattern site unknown to me.  The fact that she mentioned the word ‘free’ was a definite draw and so I immediately headed over to see what I could find for hubby.

Joost De Cock runs a small website where he offers his own made-to-measure patterns to download.  Once you’ve signed up you can add models measurements and select these models for downloading the patterns.  I opted for something easy to start with and voila! One pair of test boxer briefs done!

This is a super quick pattern that would have taken about half an hour if it hadn’t been for the darn overlocker snapping a thread and me spending 45 minutes trying to retread it 😁. After wasting time and getting nowhere, I gave up and used my sewing machines stretch stitches instead – I seriously couldn’t be bothered with it this morning.

You can find Joost on Instagram at @joostdecock and online at makemypattern.com. In addition, Joost has also created great instruction and some video tutorials too.

You know I said free?  Well, yes it is, but Joost is very appreciative of any donation to help him continue his patternmaking work and expand his range. When you see the hard work and effort he has input into the patterns, instructions and website, we really should be supporting him to continue his efforts to help more men get involved in sewing.

This test pair was entirely made from my stash.  Although I didn’t have the wider waistband elastic, I simply zigzag stitched two thinner pieces together and I worked a treat. I also used a twin needle to hem the legs.  After thinking I really, really need a coverstitch machine, after today’s trials with the overlocker, I may give it a miss for a while longer!

Now where has my model disappeared to so I can test them for fit?

Leave a Reply

Categories

