Posted by: michelenel | 29 April, 2015

The bag with everything I need…..

….for now anyway!

I have a lovely Cath Kidston handbag.  It is pretty and served my requirements for quite a few years but as with anything you use every day for that length of time, not even a thorough wash gets it looking new again – and I tried!

I needed a new bag, and having become very familiar with my over the shoulder messenger bag, knew exactly what I liked and disliked about it, and therefore what I would change and incorporate into my own design.  A messenger bag has the right type of over the shoulder strap, but is just a big cavern where things go in and sometimes never come out! It has not zips or closures and when I drop it (which is often) I deposit the contents on the floor which can go from very annoying to downright embarrassing!

I had the fabric eventually and now I needed a pattern.

I spent the morning drawing and measuring it up and then cutting out paper pieces – not all necessary, but for a first attempt it was prudent.  Most of the pieces are simple rectangles and can be cut without a pattern for next time (if the pattern worked out as planned anyway!).

Next I cut out my fabric pieces and got stitching…..on Addie – the first real project that I have created on this beauty of an industrial machine I told you about back here.

I have to be honest and tell you that this was pretty scary going at first!  Sewing on an industrial machine used for leather can very well be described as ‘violent’.  Everything about it is bigger, bolder, stronger and faster; and takes a bit of getting used to, but this project has established us as firm friends….if still at that initial, cautious stage 🙂

I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE, my new handbag!  It has everything I need plus a few bits I may never need….

It is pretty and the strap is adjustable and goes over my shoulder so it sits comfortably in my lap when I am wheeling around….

DSCF1847

It has zips…a LOT of zips!  Two on the front pockets….

DSCF1832

Two on the inside pockets….

DSCF1845

and one on the top…..

DSCF1843

It has hooks and loops all over the place.  Handy for keeping everything where it belongs and easy to find….

DSCF1846

A nifty little side pocket for  my mobile phone…..

DSCF1841

with a magnetic catch so it doesn’t fall out…..

DSCF1842

and I might have mentioned…it is very pretty! 🙂

DSCF1834 DSCF1832 DSCF1831

This lovely handbag has successfully fixed the things that my shop bought bag wasn’t great at, and I am extremely happy with the results.

Now to make another….in a more practical colour – or two!

Responses

  1. Oh my goodness- a truly capacious bag! Perfect for all your odds and ends, eh? I love it! So pleased you have something wonderful for yourself too!


Leave a Reply

Categories

