Posted by: michelenel | 12 June, 2014

GBSB2 1930s Blouse- Part 2 – Cutting

Part 2 of the 1930s blouse is to cut out all the fabric pieces and the interfacing.

I had selected a very pretty Liberty print which I recently purchased from Standfast and Barracks in Lancaster (UK).  It had been pre-washed and ironed and was waiting patiently on the shelf for me to get the energy and motivation to start!

IMG_0055

There is nothing like a deadline to motivate one into action and if I want to wear this at the Minerva Meet-Up on Saturday I figured it was way past time to make a start!

Here we are all laid out and ready to cut…..

IMG_0053

I used weights instead of pins this time – the use of pins or weights is variable as I tend to just go with what I feel like in the moment. To see how my weights were made go here or here.

Fold the fabric in half with the selvages together and right sides together.  I like right sides together because that way when some pieces are sewn you don’t have to turn them around.  For fabrics that are difficult to see the difference between the right and wrong sides, either place a pin on each of the right sides (removing them as you begin to stitch the pieces together) or use a tiny sticky dot.

Remember to cut out 4 pieces for the collar – 2 for the upper collar, 2 for the under collar.

IMG_0054

For the interfacing I decided to use an iron on medium weight woven to ensure the facing and collar stayed nice and crisp – hopefully this works out well, but I will test a small scrap before starting.  Cut out the front facing, back facing and collar in your choice of interfacing.

IMG_0056

Keep the pieces attached to the pattern until you have finished marking off all the darts and other markings.

Next we will begin making the markings and attaching the interfacings.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

