Posted by: michelenel | 14 March, 2014

A bit stiff in the collar…..

In an attempt to be more self-sufficient and save money I have been making a few things at home recently from common household ingredients. Today’s was starch for ironing. I have been wanting to make this for a while and I didn’t realise I had run out until I got to the ironing board and needed it to press the project I’ve just finished.
There was no scientific basis for my formula and I didn’t have the time to search on the Internet to get a proper recipe so I just took 2 tablespoons of cornflower (cornstarch) and put this into a spray bottle with water; gave it a good shake and sprayed it onto the item. I like to leave the starch for around 30 seconds to penetrate the fabric before pressing. Press as usual and see how crisp and clean your garment looks. I use starch mostly on cottons, poly cottons and similar fabrics but in this case it was a variety of yarn and worked beautifully.

A couple of things to note – shake the spray bottle well before each use as it does settle. Also, spray the garment not the ironing board cover as it will build up and flake when dry, however you can wash the ironing board cover occasionally if you find you use starch a lot.

Here is a comparison picture. On the left no starch and on the right with starch. A big difference and the fabric feels nice and crisp – perfect for men’s shirts, tablecloths, serviettes and getting that lovely just purchased look for newly sewn items.

20140314-083039 am.jpg

20140314-083050 am.jpg

Why not give it a try next time instead of spending money on store bought; and then go buy yourself some more fabric with the money you saved! Let’s call it a reward for being thrifty and responsible with your finances. 😄

I have subsequently done a little research and found these really useful sites with recipes too….
All things starchy
frugalliving
Onegoodthingbyjillee
And finally this one which won’t spoil so I am definitely trying today….
frugal.answers.com

Leave a Reply

Categories

