Posted by: michelenel | 7 March, 2014

Sewing stress is…..

…spending hours making a beautiful tailored shirt for hubby and the last thing you have to do is add all the buttonholes!
Even after all these years of sewing, this is the one thing that gives me a moment of anxiety because you have actually completed the entire garment and if the buttonholes aren’t perfect they are so ‘in your face’ that you will forever see your mistakes when the shirt is worn.

This is the advice I always give anyone I am helping learn to sew buttonholes – PRACTICE, PRACTICE, PRACTICE!! I make sure that the scrap I am practicing my buttonholes on is the exact same thickness (I.e. Replicate the same number of layers) as the actual garment and then I make dozens of test buttonholes until they are exactly what I want, and only then do I venture anywhere near the real thing.

Here we are all marked out and double checked – ensure that you have them in the right place AND that you have the markings with the correct spacing. Test the spacing on the person; the last thing you want is one of those pesky buttonholes in a place where it creates a gape – especially on a more fuller figure!

20140307-083900 am.jpg

Responses

  1. That shirt looks amazing. Are you going to do more? Adding those kind of accents on a dark, solid color shirt would be stunning.

    • Thank you. I am very happy with the results. I actually have a lovely dark blue for the next one and a little pile of Liberty fabrics to choose from for accenting. This time I am also going to put the buttonhole facing in the contrast to give it even more colour. I found this to be so much more fun than doing a plain shirt. All the best. Michele

  2. You are definitely not the only one that pauses for a bit when they reach this part.
    I like the contrasting parts that you added to this shirt!

    • Thank you Emmely. Scary stuff thinking you may mess the whole thing up! I am really loving doing the contrast as it adds some fun into the process and makes me smile when I see it peeking out from behind the ordinary fabric 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

