Posted by: michelenel | 27 May, 2013

Here’s hoping for a great fabric day…..

Seeing as I have at least a dozen projects in the pipeline – non quilting related – I thought it would be a good idea to head off and find some fabric for each of them.  Sadly this is more difficult than you would imagine; especially considering we live in what was originally the textile capital of the world!  Most of the decent clothing fabric stores have gone and the few that remain have a very limited choice which makes finding the perfect fabric for a range of items extremely challenging.

I am an avid online shopper but I have yet to become comfortable with the whole buy online notion when it comes to fabric because the look and feel of the cloth is a vital part of the process and you cannot get this from the comfort of your home.  I could of course try to be more prepared and have my projects all lined up and in a timely manner request samples in the mail and then order what I want, but seriously, half the fun of sewing is the spur of the moment decision to make this or that project!

Tomorrow we are off to Manchester on a friends recommendation of a little fabric store that sounds like it may have potential.  If it works out well then it will have been worth the nearly one hour journey.

Here’s hoping that I come back with a nice little pile of lovely fabrics!  I’ll let you know how I get on and if it is worth recommending.  In the meantime, if anyone out there knows of some hidden gems in the North West of England PLEASE let me know.

 

Responses

  1. Good luck on your fabric shopping quest… show us what you purchase!


Leave a Reply

Categories

