Posted by: michelenel | 15 May, 2013

Inspired by The Great British Sewing Bee?

If like me you were loving every minute of this new BBC production, you are probably also re-invigorated and ready to tackle some new sewing projects!  Well, as for me, I am and I am.  As a regular sewer, even I was motivated to do more and I started this week with quite a few things on my to-do list, or holding wall as we call our little sewing wanna-be’s.

I am sad to report that although we live in the heart of what was once the cotton and fabric region of the United Kingdom and the world, most of the shops you will find nowadays are all about curtaining – a HUGE frustration for me and one that creates real problems when trying to find the perfect fabric for that special outfit you need to make now, not next week or next month!

My solution to this problem is often to turn to other  more unusual sources, and in this instance it appeared in our local Tesco store in the form of a single bed seersucker duvet set!  Seriously, if you need cotton fabric these are a great place to start because you get a lot of fabric for your money – this one cost £12 and from that I have 2 meters of seersucker and 2 meters of plain cotton backing and one or two pillowcases that come in very handy for small projects or quilting!  Also, I NEVER throw my old duvets out because they often make a re-appearance as something new and re-fashioned!

I really wanted to make a striped shirred dress for our little granddaughter because they are so pretty and comfortable for summer.  The beauty of them is that you can add a short or long-sleeved t-shirt underneath if you have less than perfect summer weather like we do!

Here is the dress in production – after the shirring has been inserted and then the final version with a lovely little flower embellishment….

 

Responses

  1. What a great idea – the fabric is gorgeous. x

    • Thank you for your visit. It is lovely to have new people around. 😊
      When I saw that duvet/quilt cover it cried out to be a little girls dress!! AND I have enough left over for a few more designs too – perfect.


Leave a Reply

Categories

