Posted by: michelenel | 24 November, 2012

Coasters to match the runner….

Boy I’m on a roll today!
With the bits of leftover fabric I made some matching coasters to go with the table runner. It is going to be really lovely at the Christmas table this year.

I think I’ll rustle up a few of these as small gifts for my friends as well.
If you like them why not give them a try? I made these 41/2 inches square. I’m not going to reinvent the wheel when there are such good tutorials online – why not try this one….. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sipzCAflJQ8&feature=youtube_gdata_player

Two things to remember 1) you can make these with a triangle or rectangular shape by ironing your blocks in half either way. 2) if you are making this for hot items use the insulation and second piece of fabric on the bottom, but if they are just drinks coasters I leave out the batting/wadding and second base square. This way you only need 5 squares per coaster.
Any when you’re done, why not make a nice drink and test them out!

20121124-132934.jpg

Leave a Reply

Categories

