Posted by: michelenel | 5 March, 2012

Pinny possessed…..

What is it about a humble apron that makes a grown women sigh and insist to her hubby “one can never have enough pinnys “.
Daughter number two decided daughter number one (order of birth rather than favoured rankings in case you were wondering) did not have a big enough collection and wanted to make a new vintage-style one for her birthday. She found a picture which I turned into a pattern and an afternoon spent teaching her cutting, pinning and stitching ended with one of the nicest aprons around – inspiration is great but is always aided if you are making something for a special person.

This pattern is a definite keeper and will soon see another outing to the cutting table.

20120305-215049.jpg

20120305-215108.jpg

20120305-215125.jpg

20120305-215204.jpg

Responses

  1. I love this pinny! It reminds me of my Mum when I was a kid. She always kept her washing pegs and a handkerchief in the pocket at the front. Great job 🙂

    • Isn’t it wonderful when something so simple takes you back to a cherished memory. I am hoping that there may be one for me in my next birthday treats – perhaps I will need to hint a little less subtly.

  2. Love your apron! Your work is beautiful and so is the fabric. What a great gift!

    • Thank you craftyteapot. I have been sewing since I was a small child but I am now teaching a small group of people on the weekend as it seems to be a dying art in the UK, which is criminal. My daughter made this all by herself with my instructions and I am very proud of her achievement. Our little sewing group are learning and making a quilt at the same time using the Craftsy.com free online Block of the Month course.

  3. Daughter number 1 here- I love, love, love it. I love the bow at the back; I love the bound edges; I love the shape and the retro-ness of it all. This was such a great gift!

    • A perfect gift for a perfectly lovely person 😘


Leave a Reply

Categories

