Posted by: michelenel | 16 January, 2010

Whoever dies with the most kitchen gadgets, wins!

For those of you who do not know, I was snowed in between Christmas and 10th January.  This gave me plenty of time to decide what gadgets I really needed (mmm, maybe want would be more accurate), to make me a more rounded and fulfilled human being.  Put your hand up if, like me, you are one of those people who cannot possibly cook, bake or craft without the latest, bestest, new knife, grater, zester, roller or how-to book – come on, be honest, or did I hit a raw spot that hubby keeps prodding you about?

Anyway, for those of you who do not live near the Lake District, I am really sorry, but you are not only missing out on some of the most wonderful scenery, but also the amazing Lakeland kitchen store in Windermere.  You cannot possibly pass by without paying it a visit – technically we are never able to just pass by because we live an hour and a half away, but it is worth the trip to be inspired by a bright yellow banana holder or collapsible lunch box, to pack the perfect lunch for work. 

I was very good and made a list of things that ‘one cannot live without’ and that was going to get me one step closer to the ‘most gadgets before departure’ title.  On the top of the list was a set of silicone egg poaching pods – I had bought some for my daughter as a stocking filler at Christmas and after trying them out, we were hooked, and wanted to replace our very expensive but bulky egg poaching pan, with these easy to use and stuff in a drawer afterwards ones instead.

Amazingly, I only bought a few extra’s not on the list and after paying for our booty, we headed upstairs to the Lakeland restaurant for some lovely fresh food and beverages.

Now to unpack the fruits of our culinary capers and get stuck into the post-Christmas sale sweets we couldn’t resist….

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

