Posted by: michelenel | 3 January, 2010

Ami who?

Amigurumi silly!  I have my daughter to thank for getting me into this craft.  According to Wiki, Amigurumi is ‘the Japanese art of knitting or crocheting small stuffed animals and anthropomorphic creatures. The word is derived from a combination of the Japanese words ami, meaning crocheted or knitted, and nuigurumi, meaning stuffed doll.  Amigurumi are typically cute animals (such as bears, rabbits, cats, dogs, etc.), but can include artistic renderings, and inanimate objects endowed with anthropomorphic features. Amigurumi can be either knitted or crocheted. In recent years crocheted amigurumi are more popular and more commonly seen’. 

In my usual enthusiastic fashion, I had to have a book to go with my new project and luckily there were a few available.  This one is written in a very simple pictorial manner and is easy to follow.  I changed the size of the toys by changing wool and needle size – just make sure that the tension is tight enough to prevent the stuffing from coming through the holes.  The beauty of these little creatures is that you can do whatever you want to make up your own treasures.  I think I will make a stash and keep them for baby shower gifts.  

Teddy is made in left-over wool from baby projects and the lion in cotton.

Happy Amigurumi…..

Responses

  1. Oh my- that lion is FAB.

    • He really is lovely and such fun to make. Now all I have to do is keep him out of the clutches of the other daughter who seems to have taken a bit too much of a shine to him! I am teaching her how to make her own instead – wish me luck!


Leave a Reply

Categories

